A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge can be scary. If an officer has recently charged you with a DUI, you are probably facing additional expenses such as legal fees, impound fees, and increased car insurance rates. At Marisol’s Insurance Services, we want to ease the financial burden of your recent DUI charge by finding you an excellent plan at a rate you can afford.
How Much Does Car Insurance Go Up After a DUI?
After a DUI, you can expect to see a significant increase in your car insurance rates. Rates go up because insurance providers consider a driver with a DUI riskier than one with a clean driving record. On average, a single DUI in the state of California can raise your insurance rates by about 165%.
The rate of increase depends on certain factors, such as age, location, and vehicle, but the most critical factor can be the severity of the incident. In some extreme cases, your insurance provider may even cancel your policy because they consider a DUI a major offense.
Finding affordable insurance can feel hopeless after being charged with a DUI. You may even struggle with legal fees while sifting through countless insurance companies for a fair price. Here at Marisol, we do everything we can to get you back on the road and back to normal.
Should I Tell My Provider About a DUI Charge?
If you get a DUI, your insurance provider will find out about it. You may not see an immediate change in your rate because most insurance companies only re-evaluate their customers’ driving records when they renew a policy. It’s best to tell your insurance agent if you have been charged with DUI because they can tell you how much your rate will increase.
If you can’t afford the new rate, you can get an early start looking for a new provider. Insurance companies evaluate each new customer’s driving record, so it’s best to be honest when shopping around. Failing to disclose a DUI will result in an inaccurate quote.
Will My License Be Suspended After I get a DUI?
When charged with DUI, you receive a notice of suspension that shows the police have suspended your license for a given amount of time.
You can legally drive for 30 days after receiving the notice of suspension unless prohibited from driving for any other reason. Law requires the police officer who charged you to forward a copy of the notice of suspension to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
When the DMV receives the notice, they conduct an administrative review and examine the officer’s report, the notice of suspension, and any test results such as a breathalyzer, or field sobriety test. You have 10 days to appeal the suspension with the DMV if you believe there is no basis for the action.
To get your California license reinstated after the suspension period, you will need to file for an SR-22.
What Is an SR-22?
If you have had your driver’s license suspended because of a DUI charge in California, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to apply for a certificate called an SR-22. An SR-22 confirms a high-risk driver has met all the minimum requirements for car insurance. If you have a DUI, you cannot purchase insurance without the certificate.
Most insurance providers increase rates heavily for those with SR-22s. In California, SR-22 insurance costs about $2,090 more than standard rates. At Marisol, we do not charge unnecessarily high rates for any customer, even if you have an SR-22.
What Can Marisol Do for You?
We strive to provide you with affordable insurance without discrimination. We never treat you unfairly for any reason, including what’s on your driving record. No matter what, we provide you with high-quality insurance and exceptional service.
Our team finds you the best deal, so you can get the coverage you need at a price you can comfortably afford. Even though your DUI stays on the record for 10 years, we lower your premiums in a fraction of that time.
At Marisol’s Insurance Services, we value every customer. Getting back on your feet after a DUI is not easy, but we’re here to make that process as smooth as possible. Our goal is to get you back to normal and at the lowest rate available.
Call (909) 487-8182, or reach out online at Marisol’s Insurance Services for a quote today.